Tires V Spacers?

Dubai82

Reaction score
Apologies, I'm new to ZR2. Never had a truck.

I see alot of people out there changing wheels & tires, while having issues "rubbing", "trimming" & "lifting". Why cant everyone add spacers only, which will help tires pop out, more or less instead of spending & changing tires / wheels. Is there a side effect of the spacers that makes changing rims & tires much better option?

Again, I'm so sorry if its very obvious. I just want to know why.

Thanks

Spacers can also cause fitment issues. If you push the stock wheel out further from the hub, it actually gets closer to the front bumper and rear wheel well when turning. I think you can go with a 1 to 1.25 inch spacer with less concern, but 1.5 inch you start to get into rubbing territory depending upon each truck.

I've posted a detailed thread on trimming. I did all the sorting, so you don't have too. It'll take you less than an hour and you can run whatever size tire you like under 35 inches.

Last edited:
Spacers can also cause fitment issues. If you push the stock wheel out further from the hub, it actually gets closer to the front bumper and rear wheel well when turning. I think you can go with a 1 to 1.25 inch spacer with less concern, but 1.5 inch you start to get into rubbing territory depending upon each truck.

I've posted a detailed thread on trimming. I did all the sorting, so you don't have too. It'll take you less than an hour and you can run whatever you like under 35 inches.
Hey Axe. Thank you for the detailed answer. A question here. How do you jump from 1.25 inch to 35 inch? Isnt that a big jump?

I had my front on 35 & back on 40. Will that be an issue? H&R german brand. Why? Because anything less than 35, according to the deal wont fit, and trimming has to be done. They showed me, it doesnt fit without trimming, unless its 35 & above.