Ceramic coating

I have paint corrected and ceramic coated many of my cars, trucks and bikes over the years. New and classics.

My ZR2 came with Ceramic Pro from the dealer. It’s prob the worst of the brands I’ve seen in terms of water spotting.

Gtechniq CSL and Exo V4 was the best I used - but I did a 40 - 50 hour paint correction process on that vehicle so the starting point was pretty flawless.

Short answer: if it’s a new vehicle I would give it a light polish and use Tec582 applied wet, follow proper washing technique and reapply as needed.

Ceramic coating isn’t worth the time, hassle or money for the negligible difference in performance over the lifetime of the vehicle.

Washing isn’t that much easier and it doesn’t stay that much cleaner. YMMV.

All it’s really done is turn car valeting into the “detailer” trade which is a bit of a money grab.

I am not a detailer by trade and never will be.

Right on, hope you dont mind me asking but have you personally had it done and if so what are your thoughts on it
I've used DIY stuff from Turtle Wax and Adam's. Takes about 4-5 hours for a good polish and ceramic application on a new truck. I've got about $750 worth of tools and accessories, so factor that in.

It definitely works, but you still have to keep up the work to have black trucks looking good.

I use my trucks in a lot of different conditions, so it's hard to tell if ceramic makes much of a difference. They will always get some kind of wear and tear under normal use. Seems about the same as polishing and waxing it occasionally.

The paint in these rigs is notoriously soft, and ceramic won't save it from dings and chips. I don't see the sense in spending $1000-2000k+. But if you spend $500 to $750 it may be worth it.

Right on, hope you dont mind me asking but have you personally had it done and if so what are your thoughts on it
Here is a recent post on the topic…