Premium or Regular Fuel ?

SeaHunt

Reaction score
The service advisor at my dealership told me that it was ok to run regular fuel even though premium fuel is suggested. Do any of you guys run regular fuel in your truck ? If you do, does the performance suffer ? Thanks !!!

The service advisor at my dealership told me that it was ok to run regular fuel even though premium fuel is suggested. Do any of you guys run regular fuel in your truck ? If you do, does the performance suffer ? Thanks !!!
Only premium for me. The ECU will pull timing and fuel, IMO. That's going to decrease HP. These computers are really good at doing this as well. I'm no expert, I just read a lot of things.

Only premium for me. The ECU will pull timing and fuel, IMO. That's going to decrease HP. These computers are really good at doing this as well. I'm no expert, I just read a lot of things.
I'm with you on this. Premium fuel in my area is almost 5.00 dollars a gallon but that's ok, I'll just bit the bullet and hope it goes down with a better administration in the future.

I always run premium. Chevy recommends a min of 91. Around here our premium is 93 usually. Some say it doesn't matter, but the engine is tuned for that min octane. I don't see the point in risking wear and tear on the pistons by running lower octane. Especially in the heat of summer. If I had to guess During winter running 89 is probably fine. Especially if you aren't towing or running it hard.

I came from a 6.6 duramax. So I'm use to diesel prices, 3 gallon oil changes and 45 dollar fuel filters every other oil change along with load E tires every 2 years because the truck weighs 4 tons unloaded. Lol, so a 1500 that requires premium isn't a big deal. I would have bought something else if it was.