Tonneau Covers revisited

T-Dubya

Reaction score
Sold my Silverado HD and picked up this awesome ZR2. I am now overthinking what tonneau cover I want for the new truck. I had a Truxedo Sentry CT on my HD. Best tonneau cover I’ve used to date. It is best described as a rolling hardcover.

IMG_0073.jpeg

I am now trying to decide if I am going to repeat this purchase. I am also considering the Retrax or Roll-n-Lock with the intention of grabbing a rack system. I have no experience with the retractable systems or racks. Looking for some real world opinions!

I had a Leer HF350M on my 2019 Z71 LTZ. It functions well, doesn’t leak and locking points worked fine. I liked it so much I put the same model on my 2022 ZR2. You can get one on Amazon delivered for about $950 and put it on yourself. It’s not a difficult install. I should’ve pulled the old one off before I traded it in and reused it. It still looked great after 4.5 years.

I have a Retrax on mine and am happy with it. It’s very smooth and really easy to use, locks securely, and after some adjustment resists water. But the box that it rolls up into takes up almost a foot of bed space at the top to the box. You can still slide things under so it’s not terrible and hasn’t caused me any trouble yet but is something to consider if you might need the full bed space often.

How much depth when folded does it take? I have a decked drawer system and want to know if the Paragon will work with it.

I was in the same place when I bought my ZR2. My previous experience with bed covers was on my Avalanche and I liked that system (3 panel) a lot. I wanted security so soft cover was out of the question. I looked at the retracting but I really hate giving up more of the tiny bed that the ZR2 mandates. I went with a BAK BAKFlip 4 panel cover. Love it so far and have no complaints.

How much depth when folded does it take? I have a decked drawer system and want to know if the Paragon will work with it.